Church History: Medieval Church: Major Figures

Useful reference works, bibliographies, and handbooks are listed here under the names of major figures in the medieval Latin Christian context, appearing in alphabetical order.

PETER ABELARD

• Bibliographies for Theology: Anselm & the 12th Century Renaissance (s. 4-5)  
• Cambridge Companion to Abelard  
• New Catholic Encyclopedia: Peter Abelard  
• Oxford Bibliographies: Peter Abelard   
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Abelard, Peter  

ST. AELRED OF RIEVAULX

• New Catholic Encyclopedia: St. Aelred (Ailred)  
• Oxford Bibliographies: Aelred of Rievaulx   

ST. ALBERTUS MAGNUS

• Companion to Albert the Great   
• Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Albert the Great (Before 1200-1280)  
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Albert the Great  

ST. ANSELM OF CANTERBURY

• Bibliographies for Theology: Anselm & the 12th Century Renaissance (s. 1-2)  
• Cambridge Companion to Anselm    
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Anselm, Saint  

ST. BERNARD OF CLAIRVAUX

• Bibliographies for Theology: Benedict & Medieval Monasticism (s. 7-8)  
• A Companion to Bernard of Clairvaux   
• Oxford Bibliographies: Bernard of Clairvaux   

ST. BONAVENTURE

• Bibliographies for Theology: Francis of Assisi & the Mendicants (s. 3-4)  
• A Companion to Bonaventure   
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Bonaventure, Saint  

ST. CLARE OF ASSISI

• A Companion to Clare of Assisi   

JOHN DUNS SCOTUS

• The Cambridge Companion to Duns Scotus  
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Duns Scotus, John   

GILES OF ROME

• A Companion to Giles of Rome   
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Giles of Rome  

JOHN OF SALISBURY

• A Companion to John of Salisbury   
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: John of Salisbury  

MARSILIUS OF PADUA

• A Companion to Marsilius of Padua   

WILLIAM OF OCKHAM

• Cambridge Companion to Ockham  
• Encyclopedia of Religion: William of Ockham  
• New Catholic Encyclopedia: William of Ockham     
• Oxford Bibliographies: William of Ockham   
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Ockham, William  

Useful resources are listed here under the names of major Islamic and Jewish writers of the Middle Ages, appearing in alphabetical order.

AL-GHAZALI

• Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Ahmad al-Ghazālī (c. 1062–1126)  
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: al-Ghazali  

AVERROES

• Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Averroes (c. 1126-c. 1198)  
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Ibn Rushd  

AVICENNA

• Encyclopedia of Religion: Ibn Sina  
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Ibn Sina  

MAIMONIDES

• Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Maimonides (1135-1204)  
• Encyclopedia of Religion: Moses Maimonides  
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Maimonides