As perhaps the greatest theologian of medieval Latin Christendom, St. Thomas Aquinas stands at the intersection of several currents that defined the era: the rise of the Dominicans and other mendicant orders, the centrality of the University of Paris in the intellectual life of the medieval Church, the growing influence of Aristotle, a rich engagement with Aristotle's Muslim and Jewish interpreters and translators, and the attempts to harmonize faith and reason in a coherent vision of both the natural and the supernatural. Because of his pivotal role, and how his teaching came to be such an authoritative statement of Catholic understanding, there is a massive body of scholarship devoted to the breadth of St. Thomas's life, works, teaching, and influence. This part of the guide intends to give you some entry point into all the available English-language scholarship.
Bibliographia Thomistica is published by the Fundación Tomás de Aquino as part of the Corpus Thomisticum Project. This new search engine, based on Wikindx, improves the usability of the bibliographic database. Some of the contents are shared with the printed yearbook Thomistica. The database encompasses nearly 30,000 entries.
Bibliographies for Theology: Thomas Aquinas & Scholastic Theology 
William Harmless, SJ compiled this bibliography on St. Thomas, which includes some annotated items. Part 1 covers editions and translations of St. Thomas's works. Part 2 covers studies on Thomas's life and thought.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy: St. Thomas Aquinas (c. 1224-1274) 
New Catholic Encyclopedia: St. Thomas Aquinas
Oxford Bibliographies: Thomas Aquinas 
A useful introduction to the vast literature on St. Thomas by philosopher M. V. Dougherty, divided into sub-sections, including annotations on selected works, and starting with a helpful guide to general overviews on different aspects of Aquinas's thought.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Aquinas, Saint Thomas
An excellent overview of the life, works, and thought of St. Thomas by Ralph McInerny and John O'Callaghan. Includes an extensive bibliography and list of additional online resources. The encyclopedia also includes another article directly related to St. Thomas: Aquinas' Moral, Political, and Legal Philosophy, by John Finnis.
The Cambridge Companion to Aquinas
In this volume ten leading scholars introduce all the important aspects of Aquinas' thought, ranging from its historical background and dependence on Greek, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy and theology, through the metaphysics, epistemology and ethics, to the philosophical approach to Biblical commentary.
The Cambridge Companion to the Summa Theologiae
Arguably the most influential work of systematic theology in the history of Christianity, Thomas Aquinas' Summa Theologiae has shaped all subsequent theology since it was written in the late thirteenth century. This Companion features essays from both specialists in Aquinas' thought and from constructive contemporary theologians to demonstrate how to read the text effectively and how to relate it to past and current theological questions.
The New Cambridge Companion to Aquinas
This new Companion to Aquinas features entirely new chapters written by internationally recognized experts in the field. It shows the power of Aquinas's philosophical thought and transmits the worldview which he inherited, developed, altered, and argued for, while at the same time revealing to contemporary philosophers the strong connections which there are between Aquinas's interests and views and their own.
The Oxford Handbook of Aquinas
An introduction to Aquinas and a guide to his thought on almost all the major topics on which he wrote. The book begins with an account of Aquinas's life and works. The next section contains a series of essays that set Aquinas in his intellectual context. They focus on the philosophical sources that are likely to have influenced his thinking, the most prominent of which were certain Greek philosophers (chiefly Aristotle), Latin Christian writers (such as Augustine), and Jewish and Islamic authors (such as Maimonides and Avicenna). The subsequent sections of the book address topics that Aquinas himself discussed. These include metaphysics, the existence and nature of God, ethics and action theory, epistemology, philosophy of mind and human nature, the nature of language, and an array of theological topics, including Trinity, Incarnation, sacraments, resurrection, and the problem of evil, among others. These sections include more than thirty contributions on topics central to Aquinas's own worldview. The final sections of the volume address the development of Aquinas's thought and its historical influence.
The Oxford Handbook of the Reception of Aquinas
Provides a comprehensive survey of Catholic, Orthodox, and Protestant philosophical and theological reception of Thomas Aquinas over the past 750 years. This Handbook will serve as a necessary primer for everyone who wishes to study Aquinas'sthought and/or the history of theology and philosophy since Aquinas's day. Part I considers the late-medieval receptions of Aquinas among Catholics and Orthodox. Part II examines sixteenth-century Western receptions of Aquinas (Protestant and Catholic), followed by a chapter on sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Orthodox reception. Part III discusses seventeenth-century Protestant and Catholic receptions, and Part IV surveys eighteenth- and nineteenth-century receptions (Protestant, Orthodox, and Catholic). Part V focuses on the twentieth century and takes into account the diversity of theological movements in the past century as well as extensive philosophical treatment. The final section unpicks contemporary systematic approaches to Aquinas, covering the main philosophical and theological themes for which he is best known.
The Westminster Handbook to Thomas Aquinas 
This complete yet concise reference work provides scholars and students with accurate interpretations of the ways in which Thomas Aquinas used important theological terms. Aquinas sought to reconcile faith and reason, philosophy and Christianity. He discussed many theological topics in his extensive writings and became one of the most important theologians of the Middle Ages. His influence continues to be pervasive today and his thought is of major interest to both Roman Catholics and Protestants.
The following online databases contain open-access compilations of all of the writings of St. Thomas with English translations and the authoritative Latin editions.
An open-access collection of St. Thomas's works produced by the Aquinas Institute. Includes the original Latin and facing English translations.
The Corpus Thomisticum offers open-access resources on Thomas Aquinas, including editions of the complete works of St. Thomas, a bibliography covering all aspects of Aquinas studies, and a tool for searching and analyzing texts.
Library of Congress Subject Headings are a great way to search across our local catalog to see what books we have on a particular topic. You can search directly through the catalog itself, or click on the links below to see our holdings in a particular area. The first (parent) link will take you to a list of subject headings: given how broad the parent heading is, it is more useful to see a list of narrower headings.