Bibliographies are compiled lists of scholarship--books, articles, and essays--in a particular area of research or study. All of the bibliographic databases below allow you to search with keywords, narrow down searches by years of publication, or look for specific types of scholarship, and in specific languages. Some, such as EBSCOhost and the Index Religiosus, give you a good indication of what SLU has online access to, and provide direct access to articles and book chapters. "Bibliographies for Theology" lacks the search functionality of the databases, but it includes valuable annotations to guide you, and is hosted by the North American Patristics Society.
The following bibliographies have a theological or philosophical focus, and will include many titles in church history and of relevance to Medieval Studies. EBSCOhost, which encompasses the ATLA Religion Database, provides direct access to thousands of online articles, and is your best bet. The Index Religiosus and PhilPapers both also require a SLU login, and will provide direct access to many articles as well.
A monumental set of bibliographies, some with annotations, compiled by William Harmless, SJ, a scholar of early Christianity at Creighton University. This collection includes useful bibliography for the Church in the Middle Ages. These bibliographies are current up to the time of Father Harmless's death in 2014.
View a list with short descriptions of all EBSCOhost databases on the EBSCOhost Web site available to SLU and select the one(s) you want to search. Especially useful databases within this collection, linking to thousands of different academic journals, include:
This database continues and effectively supersedes two leading print bibliographies: the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. The Index covers the full range of disciplines in Theology and Canon Law, together with all aspects of Church History. It encompasses about 600,000 entries.
A free and open-access bibliography produced by the University Library and the Catholic and Protestant theology faculties of the University of Tübingen in Germany, but has excellent coverage of English-language material. Covers an additional 300 journals that do not appear in the subscription-based ATLA database.
PhilPapers uses advanced trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. The index currently includes 2.7 million research books and articles. Over 5,000 individuals have contributed content to the index.
The bibliographic databases below are standard entry points to scholarship in Medieval Studies, and cover work on medieval theology, philosophy, and church history. Oxford Bibliographies are extremely useful annotated bibliographies.
International Medieval Bibliography 
The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes worldwide. The database comprises 440,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
Oxford Bibliographies: Medieval Studies
In addition to the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today’s students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Managing the ever-expanding universe of scholarly information in this field of study has proved to be a monumental if not near impossible task. Oxford Bibliographies in Medieval Studies provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload.
The Regesta Imperii (RI) Online offers more than 2 million titles, mostly within the topic of medieval Europe spanning from Late Antiquity to the sixteenth century.
