Each resource listed in this guide will include one of the following icons:
Open Access: This is an online resource that is freely available and does not require an institutional login.
KGS Login: This is an online resource open only to affiliates of Kenrick-Glennon Seminary. Access from off-campus will require a login through OpenAthens.
KGS Print: This is a print resource available in the Souvay Memorial Library. Click on the link to see the item's current status, location, and call number. Most items listed under "Essential Readings" in the LibGuides will appear in current and recent Kenrick syllabi.
MOBIUS Print: This is a print resources that is not available at Kenrick but that can be requested through MOBIUS.
Internet Archive: This is a book that has been scanned by Internet Archive. Most of these books require you to set up a free, personal account in order to access them for a loanable period.
The following are essential reference works for the study of Christology, and can point you to additional sources and works of scholarship as well as provide concise overviews.
The preeminent reference work on all aspects of Catholicism, The New Catholic Encyclopedia was produced by the Catholic University of America and encompasses thousands of signed, scholarly articles with accompanying bibliography. Especially useful articles include:
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference portal, allowing you to search simultaneously across dozens of online dictionaries and encyclopedias of the highest caliber published by Oxford University Press. Kenrick patrons can access over 25,000 different articles related to scripture, theology, and church history. You can find articles on the Christology in the following reference works:
An encyclopedia of Christ and Christology--from the Bible through the 20th century.
These handbooks bring together collections of essays by leading scholars, with each piece on specific dimensions of Christology and sotierology:
Brings together 40 authoritative essays considering the theological study of the nature and role of Jesus Christ. This collection offers dynamic perspectives within the study of Christology and provides rigorous discussion of inter-confessional theology.
Edited by Lewis Ayres and Medi Ann Volpe, The Oxford Handbook of Catholic Theology provides a one-volume introduction to all the major aspects of Catholic theology. Part One considers the nature of theological thinking, and the major topics of Catholic teaching, including the Triune God, Part Two focuses on the historical development of Catholic Theology.
What is Christian doctrine? The fourteen specially commissioned essays in this book serve to give an answer to many aspects of that question. Written by leading theologians from America and Britain they place doctrine in its setting--what it has been historically, and how it relates to other forms of culture--and outline central features of its content.