Skip to Main Content

Old Testament Studies: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Icon Key

Each resource listed in this guide will include one of the following icons:

 

  Open Access: This is an online resource that is freely available and does not require an institutional login.

 

  KGS Login: This is an online resource open only to affiliates of Kenrick-Glennon Seminary. Access from off-campus will require a login through OpenAthens.     

 

  KGS Print: This is a print resource available in the Souvay Memorial Library. Click on the link to see the item's current status, location, and call number. Most items listed under "Essential Readings" in the LibGuides will appear in current and recent Kenrick syllabi, and will have a copy in our reference section.

 

  MOBIUS Print: This is a print resources that is not available at Kenrick but that can be requested through MOBIUS. 

 

  Internet Archive:  The Internet Archive has a digital copy of this book.  It is completely free to read online, but you will need to set up a personal account, through which you "check out" (get temporary access) to the e-book.  Kenrick alumni and non-Kenrick patrons can also freely access these volumes once they set up their own accounts.    

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

 

Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary 

  • The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics.

 

Oxford Reference  

 

New Catholic Encyclopedia  

  • Prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, the Encyclopedia is a premier reference resource for Catholic theology. Gale, together with the Catholic University of America, is proud to offer a new and updated edition of this multi-volume set.

 

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books   

  • The dictionary presents articles on numerous historical topics as well as major articles focused on the books of Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings, Chronicles, Ezra and Nehemiah. Other articles focus on the Deuteronomistic History as well as the Chronicler's History, the narrative art of Israel's historians, inner-biblical exegesis, text and textual criticism, and the emergence of these books as canonical. 

 

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch     

  • In exploring the major themes and issues of the Pentateuch, editors T. Desmond Alexander and David W. Baker, with an international and expert group of scholars, inform and challenge through authoritative overviews, detailed examinations and new insights from the world of the ancient Near East.

 

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets  

  • Includes 115 articles covering all aspects of Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, the twelve "minor prophets," and Daniel. Each book's historical, cultural, religious, and literary background is thoroughly covered, alongside articles on interpretation, history, and critical method.

 

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings  

  • Tremper Longman III and Peter E. Enns edit this collection of 148 articles by 90 contributors on Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Coverage of each biblical book includes an introduction to the book itself as well as separate articles on its ancient Near Eastern background and its history of interpretation.

 

New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology & Exegesis  

  • The New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis contains more than 3,000 separate articles, written by more than 200 scholars. This massive five-volume Old Testament reference work contains articles on the theology of each individual Old Testament book, as well as discussions of biblical concepts, people, places, events, and literary pieces. Volume five contains a series of indexes: a Hebrew index, subject index, and an index of semantic fields.