The following are the Latin editions of the Code of Canon Law:
The Vatican's Latin text of the revised Code of Canon Law (Codex Iuris Canonici), promulgated by Pope John Paul II on 25 January 1983.
The Vatican's Latin text of the Codex Canonum Ecclesiarum Orientalium, a codification of the common portions of canon law among the twenty-three churches that comprise the Eastern Rite, promulgated by Pope John Paul II on 18 October 1990.
The Latin text of the Codex Iuris Canonici, the revised code promulgated by Pope Benedict XV on 27 May 1917 and published in 1918. During the time it was in effect (1917-1983), no authorized translation into the vernacular, including English, was ever produced.
Produced by UCLA, this online database encompasses all the texts of the 1582 edition of the Codex Iuris Canonici, including Gratian's Decretum (ca. 1140), Gregory IX's Liber Extra (1234), and Boniface VIII's Liber Sextus (1298)—and also the elaborate Ordinary Glosses and further commentaries on the laws that take up the vast inner margins, with further annotations on outer margins. These glosses, which are absolutely essential to historians of law, have not been reprinted since the seventeenth century, and copies are scarce.
The Vatican's English-language text of the revised Code.
Produced by the Gregorian's Faculty of Canon Law, this database allows one to retrieve and compare canons from the 1983 Codex Iuris Canonici across up to six different languages simultaneously. The default is set to Latin and English.
Also produced by the Faculty of Canon Law at the Gregorian, this database allows one to retrieve and compare canons from the Codex Canonum Ecclesiarum Orientalium across different languages, including English.
Available for the first time in a comprehensive English translation, this thoroughly annotated but easy-to-use presentation of the classic 1917 Code of Canon Law by canon and civil lawyer Dr. Edward Peters is a standard reference work on this milestone of Church law. More than just of historical interest, the 1917 Code is an indispensable tool for understanding the current 1983 Code under which the Roman Catholic Church governs itself.
The following editions of the Codex Iuris Canonici include annotations and sources for each canon:
A 1989 Latin edition of the revised 1983 Code produced by the Vatican Publishing House with annotations and fontes.
A 1995 Latin edition of the 1990 Code for Eastern Churches produced by the Vatican Publishing House with annotations and fontes.
Cardinal Pietro Gasparri's nine-volume compilation of the fontes of the 1917 Code of Canon Law. The digitization at Internet Archive is complete, but not of high quality. For the local hard copy, see here.
Published from 1865 to 1908, the Acta Sanctae Sedis disseminated official Church documents, including papal encyclicals, decrees, and other acts of the Roman Curia. It provided authoritative information on Church rulings and communications, primarily in Latin. In 1909, the Acta Apostolicae Sedis succeeded the Acta Sanctae Sedis as the official publication of the Holy See. Issues from 1865 to 1868 can be found here, and issues from 1867 to 1908 can be found here.
Apostolic letter dated 15 August 2015, in which Pope Francis reformed canons pertaining to the nullity of marriages.
Apostolic constitution dated 23 May 2021, wherein Pope Francis promulgated the revised Book VI of the Code of Canon Law, reforming the Church's penal code.
This anthology offers for the first time in any language a selection of key prefaces to ecclesiastical law collections from the era of Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages. This revised and expanded edition covers prefaces from the year 500 to 1317.
The apostolic constitution, dated 25 January 1983, wherein Pope John Paul II promulgated the revised Code of Canon Law.
The following are compilations of decisions made by the Roman Rota, the supreme court of the Catholic Church. For scholarship on specific cases, please consult Canon Law Abstracts.
An official record of the decisions of the Roman Rota, many of which concern the nullity of marriages and ordinations and are published in Latin. Volumes from 1909 to 1922 are available online through Hathi Trust. Click on the lock icon above to access. Kenrick-Glennon has volumes 1-65 (1909-1973). Saint Louis University's reference collection has all subsequent volumes: click on the MOBIUS icon to view the list of volumes.
An annotated index of rotal decisions made between 1971 and 1988, compiled by Augustine Mendonça and published by the Canon Law Society of America.
