Use these high-quality, authoritative reference works to start research, get a useful overview of a specific topic, or build bibliography:
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. Allows one to search across several essential reference works, including:
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference portal, providing access to dozens of online dictionaries and encyclopedias of the highest caliber. Kenrick has access to over 25,000 different articles related to scripture, theology, and church history.
Provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Bibliographies are regularly updated. Kenrick has access to three bibliographies:
Each Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives. Kenrick has access to 240 handbooks in religion and philosophy, encompassing over 8,000 articles.
Provides online access to the entirety of Cambridge Companions in Religion, Philosophy, and Culture, encompassing over 260 volumes and nearly 6,000 essays by world-renowned scholars.
The Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity focuses on the history of early Christian texts, authors, ideas. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to the year 600.