Skip to Main Content

Citations

Overview

Many sources that are widely used in Catholic theological writing are not well served by or do not conform to the standard citation styles, which were largely created for other humanities fields.  This part of the LibGuide offers instructions for how to cite theology-specific sources, such as the Bible, The Catechism of the Catholic Church, The Code of Canon Law, other Church documents, and the Summa Theologiae.  

Bible

  • Biblical references are not footnoted but placed in parentheses after the quotation. 
  • The edition of the Bible must be indicated by its italicized abbreviation following the reference to the Biblical book, chapter number, and verse number. 
  • If the same edition is used throughout the paper, you need give the edition only in the first citation.  If more than one edition is used, give the edition with each reference.
  • For example: (1 Tim 3:12 NAB)

When citing specific books of the Bible, use the abbreviations recommended by the Congregation for the Clergy found below.

Note: In the parenthetical reference, use the correct abbreviations.  In the text of the paper, write out the full name.  Cite chapter and verse numbers using Arabic numerals separated by a colon.

  • For example: A theme of Habakkuk is that of patient waiting. “For still the vision awaits its time; it hasten to the end—it will not lie” (Hab 2:3).

Catechism

  • Use the paragraph or section numbers, NOT page numbers.

 

  • The preferred sign for section is § which can be found in Microsoft Word under “Insert” then “Symbol” to the far right of the ribbon, then “More symbols” at the bottom of the drop down.  Click on “Special characters” and choose Insert §.

 

  • Be sure to use the most recent edition.

 

  • Example citations:
    • First footnote: Catechism of the Catholic Church, 2nd ed. (Washington, DC: United States Catholic Conference, 2000), § 863.
    • Subsequent footnotes: CCC, 863.
    • Bibliography: Catechism of the Catholic Church. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: United States Catholic Conference, 2000.
  • Use the paragraph or section numbers, NOT page numbers.

 

  • The preferred sign for section is § which can be found in Microsoft Word under “Insert” then “Symbol” to the far right of the ribbon, then “More symbols” at the bottom of the drop down.  Click on “Special characters” and choose Insert §.

  • Be sure to use the most recent edition.

 

  • Example citations:
    • First footnote: Catechism of the Catholic Church, 2nd ed. (United States Catholic Conference, 2000), § 863.
    • Subsequent footnotes: CCC, 863.
    • Works Cited: Catechism of the Catholic Church. 2nd ed., United States Catholic Conference, 2000.

Code of Canon Law

When citing the current Code of Canon Law, promulgated in 1983:

 

  • The abbreviation c. indicates one canon, cc. indicates two or more canons.

 

  • The section symbol § indicates two or more sections within a single canon.

 

  • Example citations:
    • First footnote: Code of Canon Law, c. 312, §1, in Code of Canon Law: Latin-English Edition (Washington, DC: Canon Law Society of America, 1999), 99.
    • Subsequent footnote: CIC, c. 312, §1. Note that the Latin abbreviation for Codex Iuris Canonici is used.
    • Bibliography: Code of Canon Law: Latin-English Edition. Washington, DC: Canon Law Society of America, 1999.

When citing the current Code of Canon Law, promulgated in 1983:

 

  • The abbreviation c. indicates one canon, cc indicates two or more canons.

 

  • The section symbol § indicates two or more sections within a single canon.

 

  • Example citations:
    • First footnote: Code of Canon Law, c. 312, §1, in Code of Canon Law: Latin-English Edition (Canon Law Society of America, 1999), 99.
    • Subsequent footnote: CIC, c. 312, §1. Note that the Latin abbreviation for Codex Iuris Canonici is used.
    • Works Cited: Code of Canon Law: Latin-English Edition. Canon Law Society of America, 1999.

Papal Documents

When citing papal encyclicals and other papal documents, the basic template is:

 

  1. Author
  2. Title of document in English (specifying whether the document is an encyclical, apostolic exhortation, decree, etc.)
  3. Title of document in Latin (this is always italicized)
  4. Date of promulgation in parentheses
  5. Section or paragraph number of the document
  6. Publishing information (regardless of whether the document was published as part of a book, as its own pamphlet, or on a website)

 

Other basic principles:

  • Promulgation dates must be given in the first reference and in the bibliography.
  • In all footnotes, section number(s) must be provided where available and indicated by the section symbol § for one section or §§ for two or more sections.
  • There are multiple ways to cite these documents correctly.  For example, some sources use First Vatican Council and others Vatican Council I; Pope Benedict XVI or Benedict XVI.  What is important is that you BE CONSISTENT.
  • Papal documents can be found in a variety of resources: as a part of a monograph, a periodical, a pamphlet, an edited collection, or an online source. Thus, you may need to modify your footnote(s) and bibliography to reflect the source used.  If you cite an online version, the Vatican’s website should be used.

 

Example citations:

  • When the document is accessed online:
    • First footnote: Francis, Encyclical on the Light of Faith Lumen Fidei (29 June 2013) §18, at The Holy See, http://w2.vatican.va/content/francesco/en/encyclicals/documents/papa-francesco_ 20130629_enciclica-lumen-fidei.html
    • Subsequent footnotes: Lumen Fidei, §§37-38.
    • Bibliography: Francis. Encyclical on the Light of Faith Lumen Fidei (29 June 2013) §18, at The Holy See, http://w2.vatican.va/content/francesco/en/encyclicals/documents/papa-francesco_ 20130629_enciclica-lumen-fidei.html

 

  • When the document is part of a printed book:
    • First footnote: John Paul II, Apostolic Exhortation on the Formation of Priests in the Circumstances of the Present Day Pastores dabo vobis, (March 25, 1992), §43 (Boston: Saint Paul Books and Media, 1992), 30.
    • Subsequent footnotes: Pastores dabo vobis, §43.
    • Bibliography: John Paul II. Apostolic Exhortation on the Formation of Priests in the Circumstances of the Present Day Pastores dabo vobis, March 25, 1992. Boston: Saint Paul Books and Media, 1992.

When citing papal encyclicals and other papal documents, the basic template is:

 

  1. Author
  2. Title of document in English (specifying whether the document is an encyclical, apostolic exhortation, decree, etc.)
  3. Title of document in Latin (this is always italicized)
  4. Date of promulgation in parentheses
  5. Section or paragraph number of the document
  6. Publishing information (regardless of whether the document was published as part of a book, as its own pamphlet, or on a website)

 

Other basic principles:

  • Promulgation dates must be given in the first reference and in the bibliography.
  • In all footnotes, section number(s) must be provided where available and indicated by the section symbol § for one section or §§ for two or more sections.
  • There are multiple ways to cite these documents correctly.  For example, some sources use First Vatican Council and others Vatican Council I; Pope Benedict XVI or Benedict XVI.  What is important is that you BE CONSISTENT.
  • Papal documents can be found in a variety of resources: as a part of a monograph, a periodical, a pamphlet, an edited collection, or an online source. Thus, you may need to modify your footnote(s) and bibliography to reflect the source used.  If you cite an online version, the Vatican’s website should be used.

 

Example citations:

  • When the document is accessed online:
    • First footnote: Francis, Encyclical on the Light of Faith Lumen Fidei (29 June 2013) §18, at The Holy See, http://w2.vatican.va/content/francesco/en/encyclicals/documents/papa-francesco_ 20130629_enciclica-lumen-fidei.html
    • Subsequent footnotes: Lumen Fidei, §§37-38.
    • Works Cited: Francis. Encyclical on the Light of Faith Lumen Fidei (29 June 2013) §18, at The Holy See, http://w2.vatican.va/content/francesco/en/encyclicals/documents/papa-francesco_ 20130629_enciclica-lumen-fidei.html

 

  • When the document is part of a printed book:
    • First footnote: John Paul II, Apostolic Exhortation on the Formation of Priests in the Circumstances of the Present Day Pastores dabo vobis, (March 25, 1992), §43 (Saint Paul Books and Media, 1992), 30.
    • Subsequent footnotes: Pastores dabo vobis, §43.
    • Works Cited: John Paul II. Apostolic Exhortation on the Formation of Priests in the Circumstances of the Present Day Pastores dabo vobis, March 25, 1992. Saint Paul Books and Media, 1992.

Summa Theologiae

The Summa Theologiae of St. Thomas Aquinas is cited by part (I, I-II, II-II, III), question, and article.

 

  • For example: ST II-II, q. 23, a. 3, ad 1 means, the second part (half) of the second part, question 23, article 3, reply to the first objection.

 

  • “Obj.” refers to an objection within an article.

 

  • To cite more than one article at a time, use the abbreviation “arts” for articles, as in the following example: ST, I, q. 13, arts 5-6.

 

  • Example citations:
    • First footnote: Thomas Aquinas, Summa Theologiae, III, q. 72, a. 11, in Summa Theologica: Complete English Edition in Five Volumes, vol. 4, trans. Fathers of the English Dominican Province (Notre Dame, IN: Christian Classics, 1981), 2426-2427.
    • Subsequent footnotes: ST, III, q. 72, a. 11, trans. English Dominican Province, 2426-2427.
    • Bibliography: Thomas Aquinas. Summa Theologica: Complete English Edition in Five Volumes. Vol. 4. Trans. Fathers of the English Dominican Province. Westminster, MD: Christian Classics, 1981.

The Summa Theologiae of St. Thomas Aquinas is cited by part (I, I-II, II-II, III), question, and article.

 

  • For example: ST II-II, q. 23, a. 3, ad 1 means, the second part (half) of the second part, question 23, article 3, reply to the first objection.

 

  • “Obj.” refers to an objection within an article.

 

  • To cite more than one article at a time, use the abbreviation “arts” for articles, as in the following example: ST, I, q. 13, arts 5-6.

 

  • Example citations:
    • First footnote: Thomas Aquinas, Summa Theologiae, III, q. 72, a. 11, in Summa Theologica: Complete English Edition in Five Volumes, vol. 4, trans. Fathers of the English Dominican Province (Christian Classics, 1981), 2426-2427.
    • Subsequent footnotes: ST, III, q. 72, a. 11.
    • Works Cited: Thomas Aquinas. Summa Theologica: Complete English Edition in Five Volumes. Vol. 4. Trans. Fathers of the English Dominican Province. Christian Classics, 1981.

Biblical Abbreviations

Gen: Genesis

Ex: Exodus

Lev: Leviticus

Num: Numbers

Deut: Deuteronomy

Josh: Joshua

Judg: Judges

Ruth: Ruth

1Sam: 1 Samuel

2Sam: 2 Samuel

1Kings: 1 Kings

2Kings: 2 Kings

1Chron: 1 Chronicles

2Chron: 2 Chronicles

Ezra: Ezra

Neh: Nehemiah

Tob: Tobit

Jud: Judith

Esther: Esther

Job: Job

Ps: Psalms

Prov: Proverbs

Eccles: Ecclesiastes

Song: Song of Solomon

Wis: Wisdom

Sir: Sirach (Ecclesiasticus)

Is: Isaiah

Jer: Jeremiah

Lam: Lamentations

Bar: Baruch

Ezek: Ezekiel

Dan: Daniel

Hos: Hosea

Joel: Joel

Amos: Amos

Obad: Obadiah

Jon: Jonah

Mic: Micah

Nahum: Nahum

Hab: Habakkuk

Zeph: Zephaniah

Hag: Haggai

Zech: Zechariah

Mal: Malachi

1Mac: 1 Maccabees

2Mac: 2 Maccabees

Mt: Matthew

Mk: Mark

Lk: Luke

Jn: John

Acts: Acts of the Apostles

Rom: Romans

1Cor: 1 Corinthians

2Cor: 2 Corinthians

Gal: Galatians

Eph: Ephesians

Phil: Philippians

Col: Colossians

1Thess: 1 Thessalonians

2Thess: 2 Thessalonians

1Tim: 1 Timothy

2Tim: 2 Timothy

Tit: Titus

Philem: Philemon

Heb: Hebrews

Jas: James

1Pet: 1 Peter

2Pet: 2 Peter

1Jn: 1 John

2Jn: 2 John

3Jn: 3 John

Jude: Jude

Rev: Revelation (Apocalypse)

ASV:  American Standard Version

CEV:  Contemporary English Version

GNB:  Good News Bible

JB:  Jerusalem Bible

KJV:  King James Version

LB:  Living Bible

MLB:  Modern Language Bible

MOFFATT:  The New Testament: A New Translation, James Moffatt

NAB:  New American Bible

NASB:  New American Standard Bible

NAV:  New American Version

NEB:  New English Bible

NIV:  New International Version

NJB:  New Jerusalem Bible

NJPS:  Tanakh: The Holy Scriptures: The New JPS Translation according to the Traditional Hebrew Text

NKJV:  New King James Version

NRSV:  New Revised Standard Version

PHILLIPS:  The New Testament in Modern English, J.B. Phillips

REB:  Revised English Bible

RSV:  Revised Standard Version

RV:  Revised Version

TEV:  Today's English Version (= Good News Bible)

WEYMOUTH:  The New Testament in Modern Speech, R. F. Weymouth